Forums

Username:  

Password:  

       
Login Help

  LATEST POSTS  
 
America's Army Launc..
Learning BASICS of A..
can u give us hints ..
AA3 New Patch Releas..
Better Realism Alter..

Keywords:
 

More search options

  HOT TOPICS  
 
Updating PB Client
AA3 YouTube Videos
AA3 & NASCAR
AA3 Mentor FAQ
» See more topics
 

    Page 1 of 1     

 New Install 2.5 but No Sound 
 

[CSF]DoorGunner[1]

Private First Class
Posts: 63
Joined: 01 Feb 2005

      Posted: 15 Mar 2007 18:15 Profile


Hi

I just recently updated my linux distro. I also reinstalled ArmyOps250. However, I am getting no sound. When i run armyops in terminal i get the following error.

open /dev/[sound/]dsp: No such file or directory

I checked and appearently the new alsa has no /dev/dsp file. I am wondering if anyone knows what the work around is for this?

jpn

Recruit
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Mar 2007

      Posted: 17 Mar 2007 10:00 Profile


Alsa-utils package has good programs to configure sound and save settings: alsaconf and alsamixer.

Then in /etc/modules.conf I have (I have 2 soundcards)
Code:


alias /dev/midi snd-seq-oss
alias /dev/mixer snd-mixer-oss

# card1
alias snd-card-0 snd-ice1712
alias sound-slot-0 snd-ice1712
alias sound-service-0-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-0-1 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-0-8 snd-seq-oss
alias sound-service-0-12 snd-pcm-oss
options snd-ice1712 index=0
alias /dev/dsp snd-pcm-oss

# card2
alias snd-card-1 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-slot-1 snd-hda-intel
alias sound-service-1-0 snd-mixer-oss
alias sound-service-1-3 snd-pcm-oss
alias sound-service-1-12 snd-pcm-oss
options snd-hda-intel index=1
alias /dev/dsp1 snd-pcm-oss


Then compile openal (which the game uses for sound) and copy the installed library to armyops/System, replacing the existing openal.so.
Code:


#cd armyops/System
#mv openal.so openal.so.backup
#cp /usr/lib/libopenal.so.0.0.0  openal.so


Then make an ~/.openalrc.
Code:


#vi ~/.openalrc
  (define devices '(alsa))
  (define speaker-num 2)
  (define alsa-out-device "default")
  (define alsa-in-device "default")


You can tweak the out/in device if you have multiple soundcards (hw:0,1 or hw:0,2). I have 2 cards and I can play music from the other and play with headphones with the other Smile

Now you should also have a /etc/init.d/alsasound and you can define runlevels for it.


This works for me but you might have it different Rolling Eyes

[CSF]DoorGunner[1]

Private First Class
Posts: 63
Joined: 01 Feb 2005

      Posted: 18 Mar 2007 16:49 Profile


Thank you for your reply......

great tutorial and works very well.

I have Ubuntu Feisty..... works as advertized and I will try it with wolfenstein as well. I suspect that it will be the same.

Again thank you....

[NRDC.IT]BlackHawk

Recruit
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Apr 2007

      Posted: 18 Jan 2011 16:23 Profile


I have same problem.
Audio doesn't work, but I'm a beginner on linux.
Please give me a simple solution


 New Install 2.5 but No Sound 
 

    Page 1 of 1     

 

Jump to: