Forums

Username:  

Password:  

       
Login Help

  LATEST POSTS  
 
America's Army Launc..
Learning BASICS of A..
can u give us hints ..
AA3 New Patch Releas..
Better Realism Alter..

Keywords:
 

More search options

  HOT TOPICS  
 
AA3 On Facebook!
Name that AA map!
Community Sites
AA3 YouTube Videos
» See more topics
  

    Page 1 of 3     
  Page Jump        Next Page »  

 BootCamp and America's Army 
 

SuperFr3ak

Staff Sergeant
Posts: 961
Joined: 20 Feb 2007

      Posted: 21 Feb 2007 10:58 Profile


Boot Camp lets you install Windows XP without moving your Mac data, though you will need to bring your own copy to the table, as Apple Computer does not sell or support Microsoft Windows.

More and more people are buying and loving Macs. To make this choice simply irresistible, Apple will include technology in the next major release of Mac OS X, Leopard, that lets you install and run the Windows XP operating system on your Intel Mac. Called Boot Camp, you can download a public beta today.

What you'll need

    - Mac OS X Tiger v10.4.6 or later on your INTEL Mac
    - The latest Firmware updates
    - 10GB free hard disk space
    - An Intel-based Mac
    - A blank recordable CD
    - A printer for the instructions (You?ll want to print them before installing Windows, really.)
    - A bona fide installation disc for Microsoft Windows XP, Service Pack 2, Home or Professional (No multi-disc, upgrade or Media Center versions.)

Download
You can download BootCamp via the Apple website. Download and install the application.
http://www.apple.com/macosx/bo...ta.html


Setup
Once you have opened BootCamp, the setup is pretty basic.

You will first be advised to insert a blank CD to burn your Mac Drivers that will be put on your Windows OS.

Once burned you will select the amount of space (in GB's) you want to partition for Windows. I would recommend 12 GB if you will only be playing America's Army and have TeamSpeak and all that good stuff. If you will be doing more, you can adjust the amount of space you would like.

After this you will be able to insert the Windows Installation CD and click "Finish". This will reboot the system and boot off of the CD.

Simply follow the directions for installing Windows off of your CD, it will take about 30-45 minutes.

After this the installation should be complete and your system will reboot to Windows.

Once rebooted to Windows, insert your Mac Driver Installation CD that you burned in the beginning. Follow the instructions and the drivers will be installed.

Congrats, you can now either boot off of Mac or Windows on your Intel based Mac, and download and install America's Army!


Run XP natively
Once you?ve completed Boot Camp, simply hold down the option key at startup to choose between Mac OS X and Windows. (That?s the ?alt? key for you longtime Windows users.) After starting up, your Mac runs Windows completely natively. Simply restart to come back to Mac.


Need help?
I run BootCamp on my MacBook Pro and have absolutly no problems. If you need any assistance, please make a post and I or someone else will be able to assist you.

Enjoy playing AA in Windows XP on your Intel based Mac.

^mR.p!nK#

Sergeant
Posts: 435
Joined: 08 Jun 2006

      Posted: 21 Feb 2007 14:44 Profile


You can use student editions of Windows XP aswel ^.^

_____________________
Intel iMac
2GB DDR2 SDRAM
2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
256 VRAM - ATI Radeon X1600

Dual Boot | Boot Camp & Parallels | Mac OS X & Windoze XP


^mR. p!nK#

SuperFr3ak

Staff Sergeant
Posts: 961
Joined: 20 Feb 2007

      Posted: 21 Feb 2007 14:50 Profile


^mR.p!nK# wrote:

You can use student editions of Windows XP aswel ^.^



Or Corporate, Home, Professional, etc. Smile

Balthamos

First Sergeant
Posts: 3146
Joined: 31 Dec 2003

      Posted: 21 Feb 2007 16:40 Profile


Stickied Smile. In the future, feel free to PM me if you feel like something has enough merit to be stickied, as I do loose track of things from time to time Mr Green

~Balthamos

_____________________
Embedded Image

=IHF=isnipe

Private First Class
Posts: 101
Joined: 14 Dec 2006

      Posted: 22 Feb 2007 21:11 Profile


canu use the sp2 upgrade? not windows with sp2 just the upgrade.

_____________________
IF you play paintball, put this in your sig
go to invisiblechildren.com trust me its worth it

Embedded Image

SuperFr3ak

Staff Sergeant
Posts: 961
Joined: 20 Feb 2007

      Posted: 22 Feb 2007 21:24 Profile


=IHF=isnipe,

If I'm not mistaken, BootCamp requires you use a Windows XP Installation CD with SP2.

=IHF=isnipe

Private First Class
Posts: 101
Joined: 14 Dec 2006

      Posted: 22 Feb 2007 21:30 Profile


noooooooooo. my friwnd was gonna give me a sp2 upgrade disc tomorrow

SuperFr3ak

Staff Sergeant
Posts: 961
Joined: 20 Feb 2007

      Posted: 23 Feb 2007 07:29 Profile


=IHF=isnipe,

I understand, however one of the requirements states;

A bona fide installation disc for Microsoft Windows XP, Service Pack 2, Home or Professional (No multi-disc, upgrade or Media Center versions.)

Epic.Nme

Private
Posts: 44
Joined: 10 Apr 2006

      Posted: 18 Apr 2007 19:01 Profile


Does it run smoothly as if it was on a regular computer... Or is there some lagg?

_____________________
Embedded Image
www.aaogc.com

Fart_Master

Recruit
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Apr 2007

      Posted: 21 Apr 2007 18:12 Profile


hey Superfreak,

i have an MBP too, which i got in july last year.
i run boot camp and what not. but i experience that loading times for AA and maps in the game are real slow. what can i do to make this better? otherwise once i'm in a game, everything's good.

thanks.

-josh.

_____________________
MacBook Pro
1.83 GHz Intel Core Duo
512 MB DDR2 RAM
128 VRAM - ATI X1600
Mac OS X & Windows XP | Dual Boot |

hwieniawski

Private
Posts: 28
Joined: 20 Mar 2007

      Posted: 02 May 2007 01:58 Profile


I have the top 15 inch MBP, and the game takes a bit of time to load, but it's not too bad, and it plays great!
2.33 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 Gig Ram
ATI X1600 256 MB
OS X and Windows XP via BootCamp

cPs^.Spooky

Private
Posts: 45
Joined: 04 May 2007

      Posted: 05 May 2007 19:00 Profile United States


Epic.Nme wrote:

Does it run smoothly as if it was on a regular computer... Or is there some lagg?



I have a 2.0GHz Core Duo 2, 1GB RAM and can play a pretty large server with highest video settings no problem. So, hopefully that will answer it for you.

Mixoux

Sergeant
Posts: 308
Joined: 16 May 2005

      Posted: 08 May 2007 16:05 Profile


cPs^.Spooky wrote:

Epic.Nme wrote:

Does it run smoothly as if it was on a regular computer... Or is there some lagg?



I have a 2.0GHz Core Duo 2, 1GB RAM and can play a pretty large server with highest video settings no problem. So, hopefully that will answer it for you.



Same. After upgrading from my G5 iMac to a brand new intel 2.16 Ghz, I can play basically any map (even the coop 2.8 ones) with full settings very comfortably. And, if for any reason it started to hitch at all, I could just turn down the graphics a bit.

BTW, graphics card wise Raedon X1600 128 meg. So you don't even need the 256 upgrade, but I'd still reccomend going for it anyway if you want. Razz

+TheSaint+

Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 20840
Joined: 03 Jul 2002

      Posted: 23 Jun 2007 05:03 Profile United States


I was able to install Vista Ultimate and 2.8.1 works beautifully under the new 24 inch iMac. Just FYI. Smile

_____________________
---=== He without ROE, cast the first nade. ===---
Embedded Image

barefeettom

Recruit
Posts: 1
Joined: 29 Jul 2007

      Posted: 29 Jul 2007 01:26 Profile


SuperFr3ak wrote:

Boot Camp lets you install Windows XP without moving your Mac data, though you will need to bring your own copy to the table


Frowning
I bought a Mac so I don't have to install, run and fight Windows, viruses, crashes and other problems. Running Boot Camp turns my Mac into a Windows machine. It also prevents me from running my Mac apps in the background, like chat, Mail and so on. I need software for my platform of choice.

After spending a day downloading AA for Mac, I was very disappointed to find that it's for the old PPC type Macs and runs too slowly on my current model Mac Intel Dual Core machine.

Please, please, please give us a real Mac version again, that runs on today's machines.

Thanks,
Tom


 BootCamp and America's Army 
 

    Page 1 of 3     
  Page Jump        Next Page »  

  

Jump to: