Forums

Username:  

Password:  

       
Login Help

  LATEST POSTS  
 
America's Army Launc..
Learning BASICS of A..
can u give us hints ..
AA3 New Patch Releas..
Better Realism Alter..

Keywords:
 

More search options

  HOT TOPICS  
 
AA3 YouTube Videos
Deploy/AMW Features
2nd Video Challenge
Server Admin Info
» See more topics
  

    « Previous Page        Page 2 of 8     
  Page Jump        Next Page »  

 THE solution for the widespread fps problem in 2.5 
 

Mr.Porkchop

Private
Posts: 46
Joined: 05 Oct 2005

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 09:29 Profile


hmm..i just played a server i could not play it was like 6 fps..but i joined another with less slots and im at 20...lOL



Last edited by Mr.Porkchop on 02 Nov 2005 09:32; edited 1 time in total
jjoonathan

First Sergeant
Posts: 3105
Joined: 13 Dec 2003

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 09:31 Profile


-MaC-A2Zulu.eu wrote:

U R STILL looking for, the .ini files Petepete...ROFL u makes me laugh.....
Go to username/Library/application support/Americasarmy2.5/System/User.ini

Open it with textedit and scroll ... u ll find it easily.

I use apple-F Razz

_____________________
Embedded Image

[BM]MacKane

Private First Class
Posts: 136
Joined: 02 Dec 2004

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 09:47 Profile


You don't have to put in user name and password in the .ini file. Just uncheck "Auto log in".
You an type in your name and password and check the: "Remember username"
It's does the same as adding it manually to the .ini file.

_____________________
Embedded Image

piNKsta

Private First Class
Posts: 86
Joined: 16 Jul 2005

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 10:24 Profile


IT WORKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i unchecked autologgin then quit aa and started it again and BAM my fps are as gd as they were in 2.3!!!! Shocked Shocked Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin

im on a powerbook 1.5ghz and my fps are as gd as 2.3 now, on a full 14 person bridge server they are between 18-30 instead of b4 when they were between 8-13

thanks for finding this!!!

Slonar

Sergeant
Posts: 274
Joined: 21 Nov 2003

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 11:05 Profile


It didn't work for me Confused

It seems to work on older/slower systems Question

=Tomovich=

Recruit
Posts: 1
Joined: 02 Nov 2005

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 11:45 Profile


WOOHOO!!!! IT WORKS!!!

Firstly I changed the .ini file and then I deselected the "auto login" thing and quit AA:O. Then restarted and directly joined a server without logging in.

My system: iMac rev B, 2Ghz, 20inch, 1GB Ram, Graphics card: 128 MB Ram.

I only played Weapons Cache since this is the only map i play.
Spectating view on steady points like elevator after joining: FPS 60-90
Playing: FPS 40-60
Spectating players when I'm dead: FPS 40-60

The only thing that bothers me now is my mouse, it's like i have to use my whole desk to turn around.

flightace37

Sergeant
Posts: 472
Joined: 20 Sep 2005

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 12:07 Profile


Tomovich: Turn up your mouse sensitivity! Do it in-game and in your preferences. I can turn around with barely a twitch.

You guys who are not getting results:

Don't even TOUCH the personnel jacket screen after you make the adjustments (either manually or automatically).

Just go straight to the deployment screen. It works, trust me.

jjoonathan, I will Shark it later today. But seriously, if you don't believe the posted results... Well... lol

_____________________
- flightace37
- My admin forceclass utility - broken under OS X 10.4.10
- Command line version - filefront
- GUI version - filefront



Last edited by flightace37 on 02 Nov 2005 14:05; edited 1 time in total
NiceFolkMan

Private First Class
Posts: 72
Joined: 15 Jul 2005

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 12:43 Profile


That works like magic! Thank you so much. Now we can play 2.5!!!!!! I'm so pumped. This needs to get out to everyone! It also makes the windows version work better! Hooyah

_____________________
J. Miller
http://www.audiri.com/JoeMiller

soldier_d00d

Private First Class
Posts: 167
Joined: 10 Nov 2004

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 13:16 Profile


I think you're onto something. I tried this on my G4 iMac (which I don't use for AA anymore), and here is what I got. I set the options in the 2 versions to be as similar as possible, without going into the .ini file. My tests were run using the rifle range, the Intro is where the instructor is talking, and Pit is when you are in the firing pit:

Firing range FPS

2.3
Intro 8.9-9.1
Pit 11.3-11.8

2.5 auto login
Intro 3.4-3.5
Pit 4.0-4.2

2.5 no login
Intro 10.3-10.6
Pit 12.1-12.6

Machine Model: iMac
CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (2.1)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 800 MHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 256 KB
Memory: 768 MB
Bus Speed: 100 MHz
System Version: Mac OS X 10.3.5 (7M34)
GeForce4 MX:
VRAM (Total): 32 MB
Resolution: 800 x 600

I'm going to try this on a G5 iMac later today.

Edit: WOOHOO my 100th Post Cheesy Grin

-Mac-Oliver.us

Sergeant First Class
Posts: 1449
Joined: 14 Nov 2003

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 13:30 Profile


omgwtfbbq d00d, I can't wait for 5:30 to go home and try this. ::drools:: Are you saying you actually get BETTER framerates with 2.5 than with 2.3?

_____________________
Embedded Image
--
Fear teh Cute Ones! Forever!

[xXx]butt-hunter

Staff Sergeant
Posts: 526
Joined: 03 Sep 2004

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 13:37 Profile


yeeeeeeehaaaa! edd1e that?s the best solution ever! my FPS goes from 3-6 to 15-29 !!! EVEN ON HOSPITAL! and i never had a 29 FPS on hospital before (even not on 2.3!) wow that is just awesome !
thank you so much edd1e!
.-butty-.

_____________________
Embedded Image
[xXx] is recruiting A.A. Gamers www.xxx-clan.de

flightace37

Sergeant
Posts: 472
Joined: 20 Sep 2005

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 14:09 Profile


I e-mailed Ryan about the workaround yesterday, since it's having so much effect on a lot of people's computers.

He should be able to examine the right part of his code without too much work now.

Just to note: The above suggestion is not a SOLUTION to the problem. It is a WORK-AROUND. A solution involves modifying the source code and recompiling the binary.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My Shark report (overview):

Running AA 2.5.0 in a single-player game (Bridge) without automatic login:

5.8% in ATIRadeon9700G Library - gldGetString
3.0% in Army Operations - FArchiveFileReader... (This I guess is the map loader)
2.6% in mach_kernel - ml_set_interrupts_enabled

Running AA 2.5.0 in single-player game (Bridge) WITH automatic login:
13.4% in mach_kernel - ml_set_interrupts_enabled Shocked Shocked Shocked
4.0% in ATIRadeon9700G Library - gldGetString
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As you can see, the automatic login version spends a lot more time in the kernel... Opening up that tab reports 6.2% in mach_kernel->thread_invoke... We've always known that MacOSX was slow at spawning threads, so doing it frequently is a bad idea.

Beyond that, it spends 2.7% of its time in mach_kernel->ast_taken->trap->thandler
It also spends 1.7% in mach_kernel-semaphore_wait_internal. Most of that (accounting for 1.5% CPU time) is in semaphore_timedwait_signal_trap_internal->shandler... Shocked

jjoo, why do you suppose that we are seeing so many interrupts in the automatic login version vs. very low (relative) interrupt activity in the 'tricked' version?

I can send you the Shark files, but you ought to be able to produce them yourself, so long as you're doing the log-in work right.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

soldier_d00d

Private First Class
Posts: 167
Joined: 10 Nov 2004

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 14:56 Profile


-Mac-Oliver.us wrote:

omgwtfbbq d00d, I can't wait for 5:30 to go home and try this. ::drools:: Are you saying you actually get BETTER framerates with 2.5 than with 2.3?



They look marginally better. I tried making the settings identical, but there were a few settings missing from 2.5 and that might have affected the results. Here are the G5 iMac results (no 2.3 results though, sorry):

2.5 auto login
Intro 13.2-13.8
Pit 15.2-15.9

2.5 no login
Intro 30.3-32.2
Pit 34.4-35.8

Machine Name: iMac G5
Machine Model: PowerMac8,2
CPU Type: PowerPC G5 (3.1)
Number Of CPUs: 1
CPU Speed: 2 GHz
L2 Cache (per CPU): 512 KB
Memory: 512 MB
Bus Speed: 667 MHz
System Version: Mac OS X 10.4.2 (8C46)
ATI Radeon 9600:
Chipset Model: ATY,RV351
VRAM (Total): 128 MB
Resolution: 800 x 600

Slonar

Sergeant
Posts: 274
Joined: 21 Nov 2003

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 15:31 Profile


I know I'm repeating myself but no one answered, is it possible that this fix only does good on slower macs, I got a PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0, 1.5 Ram, X800XT and it does not seem to do anything for me?

atFault

Sergeant
Posts: 383
Joined: 28 Sep 2003

      Posted: 02 Nov 2005 15:40 Profile


Slonar wrote:

I know I'm repeating myself but no one answered, is it possible that this fix only does good on slower macs, I got a PowerMac G5 Dual 2.0, 1.5 Ram, X800XT and it does not seem to do anything for me?



It would seem so, I may have gained 1 FPS, but so many other factors could achieve that for me that this may be an insignificant tweak for high end Macs.

It's been added to the Mac AA Tweak Guide anyway because so many seem to be getting significant results with it.

_____________________
Embedded Image


 THE solution for the widespread fps problem in 2.5 
 

    « Previous Page        Page 2 of 8     
  Page Jump        Next Page »  

  

Jump to: